Music Review: Take Me Home

One Direction’s sophomore album “Take Me Home” hit Australian shores last week. The follow up to their hugely successful first album, “Up All Night”, is available for purchase in a standard edition, or a special “Year Book Edition” which includes bonus songs. 

I purchased the Year Book edition which contains seventeen new songs:

  1. Live While We’re Young
  2. Kiss You
  3. Little Things
  4. C’mon, C’mon
  5. Last First Kiss
  6. Heart Attack
  7. Rock Me
  8. Change My Mind
  9. I Would
  10. Over Again
  11. Back For You
  12. They Don’t Know About Us
  13. Summer Love
  14. She’s Not Afraid
  15. Loved You First
  16. Nobody Compares
  17. Still The One
On a first listen through, I found the album to be so, so close to absolutely flawless. The only songs I didn’t immediately love were “Rock Me” and “Summer Love”, however on further listens I began to enjoy them as well. They’re not songs I’ll ever listen to on repeat (as opposed to “Last First Kiss” and “I Would”) 

With Ed Sheeran co-writing a few of the songs on the album, you can be sure that there are beautiful tales of heartbreak and love. The most obviously Sheeran song is “Over Again”, a gorgeous tune of love and loss. 

“Heart Attack” has a brilliant chorus with the boys screaming “owww” in a way that reminds you just why you fell in love with these five British boys. 

Unlike “Up All Night”, the boys seem to have equal solos throughout the album, which is great. Their sound is maturing and they all get an opportunity to showcase their amazing voices. 

The songs are more grown up than their previous album, with distinct sexual undertones in most of the songs. However, with the exception of “Live While We’re Young” and “She’s Not Afraid”, it’s generally not in an over-the-top way. 

Take Me Home is a brilliant follow-up album that shows why the boys deserve all the fame and attention they have been receiving. Fans will not be disappointed with this release, and it will only serve to excite those lucky enough to have tickets for their 2013 tour (and sadden those who missed out). 

There are songs on Take Me Home that even non-fans will love (“Little Things”, I’m looking at you), and I’m sure this album will only serve to increase their popularity.

Take Me Home is available in Australia now, released through Sony Music.  

frangipani princess xoxo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s